Heaven on earth, a paradise

Q 36

In the northwestern french countryside the village of Giverny is located.
The area at Giverny has been inhabited since the neolithic age.

My inspiration comes from wonderful “Restlessjo” and her “Monday walk” themes.
A  walk through an iconic garden, created by the painter Claude Monet.
My only prerequisite is that I’m open to impressions from an unknown “world”.

Claude Monet discovered Giverny, when he looked out the window of a train.
He decided to move there and rented a house with a plot of land.
Later he had collected enough money, so he could buy the house and grounds.
Then he started creating this magnificent garden, to use as stars in his paintings.
Some of his most famous paintings are inspired from the garden in Giverny.
Monet lived in Giverny from 1883 until his death in 1926,
both he and several of his family members are buried in the village cemetery.

Admits ornamental gardens isn’t my core interest – it’s more the wild untamed nature,
but is fascinated fully by the beauty and the giant skilled work done – and well maintained.

Q 43 Q 44 Q 45 Q 46 Q 47 Q 48 Q 49

That little green bridge did inspire me again and again – four times in this review.

We build too many walls and not enough bridges“.
*Isaac Newton – english mathematician*

Q 50

Q 55

One way to be transported from Paris to Giverny with good style:

16 thoughts on “Heaven on earth, a paradise

  1. Wow!! You’re really enchanting me in this period! I love Monet, I know the story about Giverny but I’ve never been there unfortunately😦 It must be one of my next tours in France!! I saw paintings of Monet at the Musée d’Orsay and I liked them very much. Just the last spring I read a book of Caroline Vermalle named “La felicità delle piccole cose” (original title: Und wenn es die chance deines lebens ist?) which was a romance where Monet and Giverny have a large part in the story! It made me dream…🙂 Thanks very much for sharing this beautiful and interesting post.❤ 🙂

  2. Yes- too many walls, not enough bridges! 🙂 Many thanks for the wonderful memories you evoke with this, Drake. Your photos have that surreal Impressionists quality, and that first red dahlia is exquisite. As always, you’ve brightened my week 🙂

  3. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Clifton Suspension Bridge and Observatory | restlessjo

Skriv et svar

