Literary crime backdrop

M 37

The novel “Notre Dame de Paris” written by Victor Hugo in 1831.
Victor Hugo, one of two reasons why I as 8 years old started learning french
the 2nd one was Alexandre Dumas
I wanted to be able reading them on their own language.

The enormous popularity of the book
spurred the nascent historical preservation movement in France
and strongly encouraged gothic revival architecture.
Ultimately it led to huge renovations at Notre-Dame in the 19th century.
Much of the cathedral’s present appearance is a result of this renovation.

16 thoughts on “Literary crime backdrop

  1. Very well captured in the night light! You were a little “genius” when you were a child! My first book I read, as a child of 5 years old, was “Les Trois Mousquetaires” but in italian and in reduced version for kids… Nevertheless I believe my love for France and also ancient history began just in that occasion.😉 The first time I saw Notre Dame de Paris I was so charmed that,arrived at home, I tried to draw it and that drawing is still hunging on my bedroom’s wall.🙂 Have a good week dear friend!

    • #.aurore
      I have always been very “curious” and was inspired and encouraged to “attack” books – a bookworm I guess, but also a huge outdoor child…🙂

      So glad you enjoyed this captured moment in Paris and my thoughts behind…🙂

      Wish you a wonderful week too…🙂

  2. Well, what an excellent, laudable reason to learn French…..and to make that decision aged 8! Alas, I have never learnt a language beyond an ability to get around, order in a restaurant, book a hotel and have a rudimentary conversation!

  3. My French isn’t good enough to enjoy reading in it any more, Drake, though I did took it to A level at school. Something I’ve let lapse 😦 But I love your photo. 🙂

Skriv et svar

